Articles

In Memory of Skip

In Skip Caray on August 4, 2008 by Jaq Baldwin Tagged: , , , , ,

 

We'll you, Skip

We'll miss you, Skip

 I’ll be posting a more fitting tribute later today but I’d like it if you’d leave your favorite Skip Caray moment in the comments. 

Whether it was a game he called, something he said, or your favorite “Skip-ism”, please leave your memory so we can celebrate the life of a man who was every bit a part of the Braves as anyone could be.

Thanks.

16 Responses to “In Memory of Skip”

  1. JB: The two most-famous calls of Skip’s career are ones I didn’t hear at the time; fortunately for me, I was inside old Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium for both the Game 7 NLCS comeback in 1992 and the World Series-clinching Game 6 in 1995.

    To me, the memory of hearing Skip daily on the broadcasts as a kid, as a college student, as a young adult and, more recently, as a father, is what stands out. He was the voice of my childhood, the voice of baseball to my family and me. He will be so dearly missed.

    I had the pleasure of seeing him from time to time during my Braves coverage in my past life as a sports writer. He always would say hello, always ask how you were doing. Those who just listened to him take on callers on his old pre-game call-in show might be surprised by that, but Skip was a nice guy, one who was happy to be at the ballpark every single day.

    Baseball was his life. He was baseball to many of us. And now that he’s gone, our world is a little emptier this morning.

    God bless you Skip. Rest in peace.

    Bud.
    http://braves.today.com

  2. Skip was one of the best. His candor and often witty remarks can largely go unnoticed, but if you caught them, he was a riot. He always knew where those fans who caught foul balls were from.

  3. Thanks, Bud.

    Those are some very fond memories and much appreciated.

  4. JB, there are so many memories. I think the thing that I will remember most is his ability to make you feel as if you were at the game.

  5. A fan from Chamblee GA came up with that one….

    How did he know?

  6. JB: The two most-famous calls of Skip's career are ones I didn't hear at the time; fortunately for me, I was inside old Atlanta-Fulton County Stadium for both the Game 7 NLCS comeback in 1992 and the World Series-clinching Game 6 in 1995. To me, the memory of hearing Skip daily on the broadcasts as a kid, as a college student, as a young adult and, more recently, as a father, is what stands out. He was the voice of my childhood, the voice of baseball to my family and me. He will be so dearly missed. I had the pleasure of seeing him from time to time during my Braves coverage in my past life as a sports writer. He always would say hello, always ask how you were doing. Those who just listened to him take on callers on his old pre-game call-in show might be surprised by that, but Skip was a nice guy, one who was happy to be at the ballpark every single day. Baseball was his life. He was baseball to many of us. And now that he's gone, our world is a little emptier this morning. God bless you Skip. Rest in peace. Bud. http://braves.today.com

  7. Skip was one of the best. His candor and often witty remarks can largely go unnoticed, but if you caught them, he was a riot. He always knew where those fans who caught foul balls were from.

  8. Thanks, Bud. Those are some very fond memories and much appreciated.

  9. JB, there are so many memories. I think the thing that I will remember most is his ability to make you feel as if you were at the game.

  10. A fan from Chamblee GA came up with that one…. How did he know?

  11. I remember one game in which he and Pete had a long discussion about how he could tell where the fan who caught the foul ball was from. Essentially it boiled down to that he just could tell.

  12. I listened to the radio a lot, since I haven’t had cable TV for most of my life and always just preferred the radio broadcast, so I’m devastated by the news that Skip is gone. He was my lifeline to what was happening on the field, the mood of the team, the rhythm of the game. I’m glad he’s no longer having to wrestle with his poor health, but it’ll be tough without him.

    I can unequivocally state this is the worst season a sports team I love has ever faced. I can’t think of many more franchises who’ve had as tough a year as the Braves have suffered.

    But we have to remember the good ones, remember Skip calling all those wins we took for granted just like we took him for granted. We have to look at the brilliant talent coming up in the minors and the hope that we’ll get some fresh FA bodies next season to give it another shot. I’ll still be listening. We still have Pete. Let’s not take him for granted while we have him. And I miss Don. I wish they’d bring him back into the fold.

  13. I remember one game in which he and Pete had a long discussion about how he could tell where the fan who caught the foul ball was from. Essentially it boiled down to that he just could tell.

  14. First of all … BH in LA you are so right. Keep listening to Pete, The Professor knows how to bring it.

    I grew up outside of Boston, so I don’t have the same childhood memories of Skip as I do the Sox announcers. However, my first encounter with Skip came as I’m sure many fan’s did .. The TBS SuperStation. When I moved to Binghamton NY in the mid-80′s we didn’t have wall to wall coverage of teams like we do now, so I couldn’t watch any Red Sox games, but the cable system brought the Braves into my little apartment.

    The team wasn’t very good, but I found I really enjoyed the telecasts from the seemingly dimly lit Fulton County Stadium. For me, those Dale Murphy teams even overshadowed the amazing performance that Doc Gooden was putting on in Flushing Meadows that year .. thanks in part to Skip. They sure did have a lot of rough spots to fill in during a broadcast .. including the time when Rick Camp hit a game tying home run in the 18th inning on July 4th (5th actually).

    At the time Atlanta seemed so distant to me, and all those foreign places Skip would mention when a foul ball landed in the stands …..

    Little did I know that in October 1992 I would be sitting in a bar my future boss, contemplating a decision to move to Atlanta ….. when Sid slid … “Braves Win, Braves Win, Braves Win” and my destiny to come to Atlanta was sealed.

  15. “and don’t step on downed power lines!” Rest in peace Skip.

  16. during a blowout….

    “As long as you agree to patronize our sponsors, you can take the dog for a walk.”

  17. I am from CT, and we dont get the Braves games anymore on TBS. I think I was more mad that I could not listen to Skip and Pete everyday, more than not seeing the Braves play. I grew up watching the Braves and listening to Skip. He made you feel like you were in there talking with him. I learned so much baseball from him also, he was so smart when it came to the game, and he also made it hilarious at times. I wish I could of just heard one more game of his. No other announcer, or team of announcers, will do what skip and pete did. I am truely going to miss Skip.

    Here are my 3 favorite quotes from him…

    “Yes! Yes! Yes! The Atlanta Braves have given you a championship! Listen to this crowd!”

    “Here comes Bream! Here’s the throw to the plate! He iiiiiiiisssssssss … safe! Braves win! Braves win! Braves win! Braves win! … Braves win!”

    “The bases are loaded again, and I wish I was, too.”

  18. I think I learned every city in Georgia because of his foul ball calls! I’ve said this whole year it has just been agonizing not to see the Braves on TBS every night like the good ole days but now maybe I won’t mind so much since I know Skip is no longer there. Surely TBS will air a game with a tribute for him right? Keep me posted on Twitter please!

  19. I remember being a little girl and watching the Braves games with my Dad. It is a special memory, and it is always narrated by Skip Carey’s voice. My favorite memory of Skip, though, will always be that moment when Sid Bream slid and Skip announced “Braves win, Braves win, Braves win.”

  20. Hey, JB. I was about 11 when Skip started calling the Braves games. I was WAY into the Braves, who were, of course, in the NL West at the time and playing often on the west coast. I went to sleep many nights with Skip describing the game to me like a bedtime story. It was just simply a part of my growing up.

    And I know that I will forever say to myself every time a batter takes ball 4 of an intentional walk, “And as surely as night follows the day, ball 4.”

  21. I listened to the radio a lot, since I haven’t had cable TV for most of my life and always just preferred the radio broadcast, so I’m devastated by the news that Skip is gone. He was my lifeline to what was happening on the field, the mood of the team, the rhythm of the game. I’m glad he’s no longer having to wrestle with his poor health, but it’ll be tough without him.
    I can unequivocally state this is the worst season a sports team I love has ever faced. I can’t think of many more franchises who’ve had as tough a year as the Braves have suffered.
    But we have to remember the good ones, remember Skip calling all those wins we took for granted just like we took him for granted. We have to look at the brilliant talent coming up in the minors and the hope that we’ll get some fresh FA bodies next season to give it another shot. I’ll still be listening. We still have Pete. Let’s not take him for granted while we have him. And I miss Don. I wish they’d bring him back into the fold.

  22. First of all … BH in LA you are so right. Keep listening to Pete, The Professor knows how to bring it.
    I grew up outside of Boston, so I don’t have the same childhood memories of Skip as I do the Sox announcers. However, my first encounter with Skip came as I’m sure many fan’s did .. The TBS SuperStation. When I moved to Binghamton NY in the mid-80’s we didn’t have wall to wall coverage of teams like we do now, so I couldn’t watch any Red Sox games, but the cable system brought the Braves into my little apartment.
    The team wasn’t very good, but I found I really enjoyed the telecasts from the seemingly dimly lit Fulton County Stadium. For me, those Dale Murphy teams even overshadowed the amazing performance that Doc Gooden was putting on in Flushing Meadows that year .. thanks in part to Skip. They sure did have a lot of rough spots to fill in during a broadcast .. including the time when Rick Camp hit a game tying home run in the 18th inning on July 4th (5th actually).
    At the time Atlanta seemed so distant to me, and all those foreign places Skip would mention when a foul ball landed in the stands …..
    Little did I know that in October 1992 I would be sitting in a bar my future boss, contemplating a decision to move to Atlanta ….. when Sid slid … “Braves Win, Braves Win, Braves Win” and my destiny to come to Atlanta was sealed.

  23. “and don’t step on downed power lines!” Rest in peace Skip.

  24. during a blowout….
    “As long as you agree to patronize our sponsors, you can take the dog for a walk.”

  25. I am from CT, and we dont get the Braves games anymore on TBS. I think I was more mad that I could not listen to Skip and Pete everyday, more than not seeing the Braves play. I grew up watching the Braves and listening to Skip. He made you feel like you were in there talking with him. I learned so much baseball from him also, he was so smart when it came to the game, and he also made it hilarious at times. I wish I could of just heard one more game of his. No other announcer, or team of announcers, will do what skip and pete did. I am truely going to miss Skip.
    Here are my 3 favorite quotes from him…
    “Yes! Yes! Yes! The Atlanta Braves have given you a championship! Listen to this crowd!”
    “Here comes Bream! Here’s the throw to the plate! He iiiiiiiisssssssss … safe! Braves win! Braves win! Braves win! Braves win! … Braves win!”
    “The bases are loaded again, and I wish I was, too.”

  26. I think I learned every city in Georgia because of his foul ball calls! I’ve said this whole year it has just been agonizing not to see the Braves on TBS every night like the good ole days but now maybe I won’t mind so much since I know Skip is no longer there. Surely TBS will air a game with a tribute for him right? Keep me posted on Twitter please!

  27. I remember being a little girl and watching the Braves games with my Dad. It is a special memory, and it is always narrated by Skip Carey’s voice. My favorite memory of Skip, though, will always be that moment when Sid Bream slid and Skip announced “Braves win, Braves win, Braves win.

  28. Hey, JB. I was about 11 when Skip started calling the Braves games. I was WAY into the Braves, who were, of course, in the NL West at the time and playing often on the west coast. I went to sleep many nights with Skip describing the game to me like a bedtime story. It was just simply a part of my growing up.
    And I know that I will forever say to myself every time a batter takes ball 4 of an intentional walk, “And as surely as night follows the day, ball 4.”

  29. Last night Joe told the story of Skip on the stories of the fall ball and I thought that I would roll in the floor laughing so hard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

